MoT Assessment – Class 5 Testing

Recently several Vehicle Testing Stations and MoT Assessment Testers have been hit with penalty points because MoT Testers have been carrying out Class 5 MoT Tests when they are not qualified to do so, or their Vehicle Testing Station is not approved to test this class vehicle. In some cases, it has been because the MTS doesn’t not have sufficient checks in place to stop the MoT Tester completing such as test but often it is down to the MoT Tester not understanding the regulations.

What Are Class 5 Vehicles?

A class 5 vehicle are private passenger vehicles, motor caravans, ambulances and dual-purpose vehicles with 13 or more passenger seats. Class 5 light vehicles have a Design Gross Weight of no more than 5,000kg. In order to test Class 5 vehicles, you must complete additional training specific to testing class 5 vehicles, an online assessment and another DVSA Demonstration Test.

How do I become a Class 5 MoT Assessment Tester?

You must be a qualified Class 4 & 7 MOT Tester before you can apply to the DVSA for a class 5 demonstration test.

You can carry out your own training by reading the relevant sections of DVSA MoT Inspection Manual, then sit the online assessment with one of the awarding bodies. Alternatively, you can use our Class 5 e-Learning & Assessment package, this will take you through all the relevant information you need to know step by step click here to order now


Additional Information

Once the course has been completed and passed the technician must apply for a DVSA MOT demonstration test –

Candidates must meet the eligibility requirements to attend this course. See the link for more information


Subscribe to Our Newsletter

The MoT Club © 2018 All rights reserved. Privacy Policy